crystal apple logo


Each year, InterMountain ESD organizes the annual Crystal Apple "Excellence in Education" Awards.

The purpose of these awards is to recognize outstanding individuals in the education field who are dedicated to the success of our students. Exceptional principals, assistant principals, teachers, classroom assistants, office and school staff in our communities deserve recognition and praise for their hard work in schools each and every day. The Crystal Apple Awards are a way to show appreciation to these individuals.


Nominations for Crystal Apple Awards are open each year from February 1 through April 1.

Nominations for the 2024 Awards are now CLOSED.


Crystal Apple Award ceremonies are held each spring in May. For information about these, please visit the: Award Ceremonies Page


Those eligible to be nominated for a Crystal Apple Award are all employees in any of the IMESD's 17 component school districts in Morrow, Umatilla and Union counties. Nominees can be any full-time or part-time employee who has a cumulative total of regular service of at least one year in their school district. Crystal Apple Awards can be given to principals, assistant principals, teachers, paraeducators, office staff, maintenance staff and other district staff. They can be nominated by administrators, teachers, paraeducators, other school staff, parents or community members.


Prior to 2022, the Crystal Apple Awards included an annual leadership award called the Doug Flatt Memorial Leadership Award, but that award has ended.

The Crystal Apple Leadership Award is an award intended to honor an exemplary school administrator in an IMESD component school district or at IMESD. Those eligible are superintendents, assistant superintendents, principals, assistant principals or other administrative leaders. The award is open to all school administrators serving in Morrow, Umatilla and Union counties.

The winner of this award is announced at one of the Crystal Apple Awards ceremonies each spring.

Nominations for the 2024 Awards are now CLOSED.

Crystal Apple Leadership Award Past Winners (PDF)

Doug Flatt Memorial Leadership Award Past Winners (PDF)


Lists of past Crystal Apple Winners are available below in PDF format:


The Crystal Apple Awards are supported by business sponsors in several communities. To become a sponsor, please contact Edie Allstott at 541-966-3106 or

For questions regarding the Crystal Apple Awards, please contact Crystal Apple Coordinators:

Michele Madril at 541-966-3115

Edie Allstott at 541-966-3106