THE OREGON TRAIL REGIONAL EDUCATOR NETWORK (REN)

Oregon Trail REN logo

The Oregon Trail REN seeks to build systems of recruitment, retention, and support for our regional educators.

The anchoring goal of OTREN is that by June 2023, 80% of regional educators will report that they participated in relevant learning opportunities.

What is a REN?

Overview

The Educator Advancement Council (EAC) was created as a public-nonprofit partnership through state statute to significantly improve professional supports for Oregon's public educators. The council launched 10 Regional Educator Networks (RENs) across Oregon. The RENs facilitate a process that centers the voices of educators to operationalize meaningful, systemic changes to improve recruitment, retention, and professional learning. They do this work through a networked continuous improvement process; the RENs will not initially organize around a solution, program, or an initiative, but rather around improving systems of support for educators along the educator advancement continuum. All of the RENs are engaging in work that centers antiracist, culturally sustaining policies and practices to co-create racially affirming environments for Black, Indigenous, and educators of color (BIPOC).

System Organization

This system is organized by ten Regional Educator Networks (REN)/Sponsoring Organizations with an emphasis on local context to ensure training and support are responsive to the local strengths and needs of educators and students of their region. 

External Links

Further historical context of Regional Educator Networks and the Educator Advancement Council can be found at:

Click here if you would like to receive information from the EAC. This is independent from Oregon Trail REN.

Oregon Trail Regional Educator Network Contacts

McKennon McDonald, Oregon Trail REN Coordinator:mckennon.mcdonald@imesd.k12.or.us

Oregon Trail REN Network Capacity Builder: VACANT

Betty Palmer, Oregon Trail REN Administrator Coach: betty.palmer@imesd.k12.or.us

Jocelyn Jones, Oregon Trail REN Administrator Coach: jocelyn.jones@imesd.k12.or.us

Emily Williams, Oregon Trial REN Data and Measurement: emily.williams@imesd.k12.or.us

Jordan Monaco, Oregon Trial REN Multimedia and Communications Specialist: jordan.monaco@imesd.k12.or.us

Beth Naughton, Instructional Coach: beth.naughton@imesd.k12.or.us

Ayla Olson, Instructional Coach: ayla.olson@imesd.k12.or.us

Jennifer Teeter, Instructional Coach: jennifer.teeter@imesd.k12.or.us

Dave Williams, IMESD Director of School Improvement: dave.williams@imesd.k12.or.us

Contact your Coordinating Body representative here.

Subscribe to our quarterly newsletter