crystal apple awards logo

The IMESD and our school districts in Union County are proud to announce the winners of the 2021 Crystal Apple “Excellence in Education” Awards for Union County. A total of 14 individuals were honored on the evening of Monday, May 3, at an awards ceremony at La Grande Middle School. It was the 9th Annual Crystal Apple Awards for Union County. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, no audience was allowed at the ceremony, face coverings were required and physical distancing was practiced.

 Each year, the IMESD partners with its school districts to recognize outstanding administrators, teachers, educational assistants and office and building staff for their dedication and commitment to students and for their willingness to go above and beyond their regular duties. Nominations are submitted over a two-month period by administrators, coworkers, parents, students and community members. Winners are selected from these nominations by school district administration.

 “In the past year, the COVID-19 pandemic has been one of the greatest challenges to K-12 education, but many educators have stepped up and worked even harder to serve eastern Oregon’s students. Due to these challenges, celebrating this year’s Crystal Apple Award winners has been even more important and more special,” said Michele Madril, IMESD director of communication.  

Cove School District
Superintendent: Earl Pettit
Kim McBride (Secretary) - Cove School
Russel Olmsted (Shop Teacher) - Cove School

Elgin School District
Superintendent: Dianne Greif
Denise Ludwig (Business Manager)- Elgin School District

Imbler School District
Superintendent: Angie Lakey-Campbell
Barry Bowers (Math Teacher)- Imbler High School
Wendy Clerget (3rd Grade Grade Teacher)- Imbler Elementary School

La Grande School District
Superintendent: George Mendoza
Kevin Cahill (Language Arts Teacher)- La Grande High School
Leslie Graham (4th Grade Teacher)- Central Elementary School
Linda Sweet (Paraeducator I)- Greenwood Elementary School
Dena Tams (Secretary III)- Island City Elementary School

North Powder School District
Superintendent: Lance Dixon
Sandy Colton (Math Teacher)- North Powder Middle/High School
Geneva Olson (3rd Grade Teacher)- North Powder Elementary School

Union School District
Superintendent: Carter Wells
Julie Baxter (Secretary)- Union High School
Shyanne Winters (Music Teacher) - Union School District

InterMountain Education Service District
Superintendent: Dr. Mark Mulvihill
Deb Jones (Speech-Language Pathologist)

For biographies and photos of winners, please see the Union County Crystal Apple Ceremony program.

The IMESD would like to thank our 2021 Crystal Apple Award sponsors:
 Mid-Columbia Bus Company, CHI St. Anthony Hospital, First Community
Credit Union, Bank of Eastern Oregon and Rotary Club of Pendleton.

 Congratulations Crystal Apple Winners!